Friday, May 6, 2011

And the Award Goes To...

KAXE held its Annual Meeting last Saturday at our studios in Grand Rapids. It was a fun evening with a great assortment of Mexican potluck food. Thanks to everybody who attended.

Five awards plus one special recognition were given at the event.

Loren Childs, also known as the Doctor of Togomusicology, was honored for his many years of hosting "Backporch Harmony." A picture of "the Doc" now hangs in the studio where he does his show.

The Online Leadership Award was presented to Ross Williams for his work with Northern Community Internet.

The Debbie Lentz Silent Star award honors a volunteer who works in any of the numerous ways volunteers contribute to KAXE off the air. Sandy Roggenkamp received the award this year for her hard work as the president of our board of directors.

The Marcia Nottingham Community Impact award  is given to an individual who participates in KAXE and who also contributes in a meaningful way to the community at large.  This year, the award went to Aaron Wenger for his work with the engineering program at Itasca Community College.

The Bill McKeever On-Air Artistry award winner is chosen by Northern Community's Board of Directors. This year's award went to Chad Brandt.

The Phil Collins Volunteer of the Year award goes to one of our on-air volunteers who goes above and beyond. Brandon Chase is the recipient of this year's award. (Brandon was not able to attend the meeting, so that's why there's not a photo.)

No comments: